DAVID: A MAN APART…PT2

To catch up part 1: http://wp.me/p6rlMY-x


Recently, when one of my Pastors was ministering on a Wednesday service, he mentioned in David’s story a time when David’s camp was raided in his absence (1 Samuel 30: 1-8). The story goes that all the men wept, including David. They all wept until they had no more strength left and some in their distress considered stoning David. I don’t know how that would have got their families back, but hey, people with not so great minds blame their leader for everything that goes wrong even when the leaders is obviously as much a victim of the circumstance as they are. Anyway, in their grief they turned to murder and David in the same grief turned to God.

But that wasn’t what struck me.

David turned to God and asked God if he should chase after the raiders! That was what exploded in my heart that night. I was … I don’t know. All I could do was grab my pen and began scribbling, all the while going, “Wow! Wow! Wow!”

As the story goes, David asked God if he should chase after them and if God would give him victory. Then God told him to go and without fail he would recover all. Now that’s usually enough to encourage anyone in a down time and it was enough to make my pastor’s point that night. His point being that divine direction brings victory, which is true.

Now, consider this: David went to God asking IF he should chase after his kidnapped family. David didn’t go to God asking if God would give him success in this endeavour. No! He went asking God IF he should go after them at all! That just blew me open! What if God had said, “No”? David knew he was asking for permission and it was up to God to give it or not give it. He knew God could have said no otherwise there was no point in asking the “if” question.

You think about it. Those who are single may not be able to get this, no offence; it takes a whole lot more than catching the revelation, rev, or rhema, whatever you want to call it, to get the message God is passing across to you sometimes. You may need to be able to put yourself in the shoes of the object of your lesson, in this case David.

That night, I was thinking of my wife and two sons. If I got home, and God forbid, found out that some religious fanatics came around and took them away, would I ask God IF I should hunt or chase after them? I’m sorry to disappoint you, but that night, I didn’t think I would. Even now as I think about it, I’m still wondering if I would.

Would you?

One thought on “DAVID: A MAN APART…PT2

  1. That is a serious question. If I were the one, I would have acted out of impulse to go and get my family, then on the way I can be praying in my mind for God to lead me to where they are. But that was not the case with David. He sort God first before taking any action. He didn’t act on impulse. He is such a good example.

    Like

Leave a Reply

