DAVID: A MAN APART…5

Part 4 is here: http://wp.me/p6rlMY-B

“How was David’s heart?” I’m sure you’re asking. Here is what God showed me that night: David was totally, absolutely, dependent on God. He was hopelessly useless without God. He knew it and he wasn’t ashamed of the fact. He was dependent on God even in his thoughts. He needed God just to be alive and he knew it.
Some of the thoughts he put down in the Psalms, much of which we read for their various powerful invocation of God’s covenant or instruction in Kingdom principles for success, were the cries of a desperate heart longing for the only support system it knew or the rejoicing of that heart when its hopes have been fulfilled. I believe this is one of the reasons David looked like he was so in love with God. He was so dependent on God and God never failed him. Wouldn’t you love someone who was ever faithful to you?

But then this suggests that David knew God to be a person and not just an arsenal of covenant principles and promises. He knew God to be a person and not just a concept of morals. And because he knew God this personally, he treated God like a person, the lover of his soul, the protector of his life. David hung on every word God spoke not because he was trying to be spiritual but because he knew his life depended on it and he was in love with the God who was speaking it.

Now, I’m not writing this so we can feel one thing or another, good or bad. No. I’m writing this so that upon reading it, you, like me, will come to the realization that there’s a whole lot of distance between where I am and where I have to be if I am going to fill David’s shoes. I don’t mean being a copy of David. I mean, if I’m ever in my lifetime, going to walk and talk with God and experience life like David did, I have a long way to go and the only way to get there is to run to God for everything like David did, even when I think I know what to do, or when the answer is so obvious I have to act like I don’t know in order to humble myself under the mighty hand of God. Isn’t it interesting that it was David who said to Solomon, “Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto THINE OWN UNDERSTANDING. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths. Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the LORD, and depart from evil. It shall be health to thy navel, and marrow to thy bones”? (Proverbs 3: 5-8) And isn’t it interesting that he said to not rely on our own understanding? If he had said rely not on your own ignorance or foolishness, it would have made sense but then it would have been unnecessary because we all know that when we don’t understand, we should look for help. But here he says, “Even when you do understand, let Him direct your paths in all your ways.”

Isn’t it interesting that the first student of this particular instruction was Solomon, the man who turned out to be the wisest of all?

The New Testament gives us examples of which I’ll mention Jesus who called his disciples aside to rest in spite of the need for the Gospel to spread to all Israel (Mark 6: 31) and Paul, whom the Holy Spirit told not to preach the Gospel in certain places! (Acts 16: 6-10) Weren’t souls perishing in those places too? Of course they were. Still the Holy Spirit – GOD – told him not to preach in those places. Think about it. The way forward might seem obvious to us but is that the one God wants us to take? (Proverbs 16: 25) Is it possible that God, who sees infinitely more than us, is seeing another way as obvious from His vantage position?

Friend, I know this has been a long read but please consider what you have read and let God draw you to Himself as He has been drawing me with this light.

And…I still don’t think I’ve found out all there is to the statement – David, a man after God’s own heart. But I know for sure that David was a man and a heart apart.

Peace.

PS:

It just occurred to me, days after I’d finished preparing the above note, that God declared David a man after His own heart ever before David did any of the things for which he is well known and considered exemplary. At the time of God’s declaration of His love for David, David was still an obscure son of an obscure family in Israel.

This tells me two things, Viz:

  1. It wasn’t all the things that David did, but rather the state of his heart, that make him so precious to God.
  2. I was right, I hadn’t found out all that there is to the statement. I still think there’s more for me to learn, even now.

Did you miss the beginning of this series? Go to Part 1: http://wp.me/p6rlMY-x

2 thoughts on “DAVID: A MAN APART…5

Leave a Reply

