“The Only Wise Man” 

Mr. A is known to be very cunning, crafty and smart and has a reputation of being able to fool anyone.

Mr. B heard of this and decided to put Mr. A in his place and set him straight.

So on a certain morning he met Mr. A just as he was leaving the market through the north gate and said to him, “Mr. A, I am told you can trick and fool anyone. I just want you to know that you can’t fool me, I’ll catch you every time.” Mr. A’s brow furrowed with seriousness and after a moment said to Mr. B, “Alright, I accept your challenge. Just give a moment let me get some things from the market then I’ll come back and play some trick on you too.”

Mr. B agreed.

At the close of business for the day, some passersby saw Mr. B standing at the north gate of the market and told him if he was interested in doing business in the market, he’d better hurry as they were closing down, to which he replied, “No thank you, I’m just waiting for Mr. A to finish his business in the market so he’ll come and try to fool me and I can refute him.”

Everyone who heard Mr. B burst out laughing and shaking their heads. “You have already been fooled, Mr. B. Mr. A left over six hours ago through the west gate”
It’s foolishness to think you can never be fooled,

It’s deception to think you can never be deceived,

It’s wrong to think you can never be wrong;

Be wise, seek advice.

Leave a Reply

